A Cinnabontastic NPM – #15 Commitment

Ever since as a kid
I always fashioned myself
as an old fashioned romantic,
the kind who’s looking for The One
That Special Person
Who I Will Spend My Entire Life With
And Be So Extremely Happy With
and all that fuzzy romantic jazz.

That I want to find myself committed,
loyal, honest, and true
and be with the one and only.

I maintain this dream for so long
that I have come to find out
that I am more scatterbrained
than I ever hoped to anticipate.

Like a demented squirrel
milling about in puffy cocaine,
I find myself so easily distracted
I find myself so incredibly busy
with my career as my number one priority
that having a relationship that lasts more
than one solid full year
feels like agonizing eternity for me.

But even though my body fights against it,
yearning for the desire to do
WHATEVER THE FUCK I WANT
I look at Commitment
I look at Her
and I want to tell Her

“I want you. I want you so bad.”

And She in return will whisper:

“You’ll have me when you found the right one.”

Leave a Reply

