HanSarang Thoughts #16: The Rose That Grew From Concrete

Did you hear about the rose that grew
from a crack in the concrete?
Proving nature’s law is wrong it
learned to walk with out having feet.
Funny it seems, but by keeping it’s dreams,
it learned to breathe fresh air.
Long live the rose that grew from concrete
when no one else ever cared.

“The Rose That Grew From Concrete” is the name of this beautiful little poem that was written by Tupac Shakur, a rapper who many may not have known that he was a prolific poet as well. I read this poem in his poetry collection back during my sophomore year of college and to this day, it has been one of the most inspiring poems that have shaped my determination to succeed in what I set myself out to do.

For most of my life, I have been surrounded by “you can’t”, “you won’t make it”, and “you’re not that special” folks. Folks who regarded me with neglect & silence to my existence and my dreams. They have come from people like my father, some of my high school teachers, and even some of my friends. Now, I can honestly say that I would not be where I am without them and so I thank them as much as the people who have believed in me. And just like this poem, my stubbornness pushed me through the concrete to be where I am now, living my dream and making money from it. Obviously, the room to improve is infinite and so there’s no room to be complacent but I am extremely thankful for everything I have accomplished in my life so far and the people that I cherish and love dearly.

So this post is for Tupac as June 16th marks his birthday. Happy birthday to a true legend, a beautiful poet, and a role model for people like me to keep pushing through our own concrete so that we may breathe fresh air and be the rose that we were meant to be.

Leave a Reply

