HanSarang Thoughts #5: This Is A Marathon, Not A Race

It is only natural within all of us that we seek to make a unique impact in this world, whether it be through fame, fortune, or charity. I know this is especially the case for actors as their main goal is to be first, be paying their bills with their craft and second, be known across the world. While there are many variations in between, you would be hard pressed to find an actor who is content with doing community all throughout their life while working at a grueling daytime job at Chili’s.

Therefore, it is extremely difficult to maintain one’s humility when one’s success starts to swing in an upward scale. This is a concern I will always have as there’s always that “average ordinary guy” part of me that I wish to maintain for the rest of my life. I can’t however, pretend that I’m 100% saintly in this regard and desire as there are many, MANY times that I get myself into a petty jealous state of my fellow actors,. I tell myself I need to think at a higher level, to be happy for their successes, even if I find their talents not that special or noteworthy.

I mean, seriously, it’s not like I boast a massive amount of talent or credits to make any some sort of hoity toity judgement.

But sometimes I fail to keep myself in check. Sometimes I fuck up royally. Sometimes I become a completely arrogant shithead and I take everything I hold dear to me granted. It is in this pursuit of success that I lose track of myself and forget what really matters in my life.

Succcess, I need to keep reminding myself, comes at various speeds for all of us. It can be instant to some, it can be slow for others, or it can seem almost non-existent but the journey is not in the speed but in the persistence to keep running. If I take inspiration from expert marathon runners, they will do everything they can to make sure their body AND mind are in prime condition. They take special care that they don’t burst like a mad man in the beginning but to pace themselves because they are in it for the long haul.

This acting career, or rather, this life of mine, I am in it for the long haul. I find that the things in my life that help condition me to be strong and steady are my friends/family/God, my hunger and humility to be blessed that I am working in any shape, and that I am thankful for every person and opportunity I meet and encounter. It is not dependent on fame or fortune but the little small blessings within ourselves and in the people and world around us that make us be able to keep up with this marathon. I speak mainly from the perspective of an actor, but I believe this can apply to pretty much everybody in this world as well.

Leave a Reply

