NPM 2012 #16: April 16th, 2007

April 16th, 2007.

The day a Korean American ended his life with hatred and bloodshed
while another begin a new one with acceptance and resolve.

It is not comfortable for me to acknowledge
that my journey of accepting and embracing my identity,
the willingness to understand my father who I hated for long,
and the crystallized resolve to become who I am now,
all stemmed from a man who could never come to terms with himself.

April 16th, 2012.

5 years later, I am in the midst of a whole new journey,
a journey that I dedicate my entire life to,
a journey that would not have been possible
without the journey that came before.

April 16th, 2007 (version 2.)

What if on that day,
Cho Seung Hui decided to express himself with words
and his peers and professors took him seriously?

What if he didn’t fall through the cracks
and was encouraged to turn his ugly demons into fiery angels?

What if he had my friends, mentors, and beautiful beings
that served as inspirational beacons of light?

What if I swapped places with him?

April 16th, 2012 (version 2.)

Would there be a possibility
that Cho Seung Hui
could be in LA
pursuing a career as an actor
to further his expressions?

Would be there be a possibility
that I would be dead in the ground
six feet under
with nobody to mourn me
except my unfortunate family?

— Back to reality —

It is dangerous to think of
what could’ve been
when one should instead focus on
what could be
for this, I thank this life I have
insha’Allah
I make the absolute most of it.

One comment

  1. jerbat · April 19, 2012

    Constructive Criticism:

    The disjointed, irrelevant text and unnecessary date shifts help to distract from the absurdity of the piece’s overall point.

Leave a Reply

