Koreatown, my home

Where I live right now
I can’t quite call it ghetto
nor can I call it a place
where I can walk freely with ease
it’s a lovely shithole,
is the best way I can describe it.

Its funny that when I take a drive
through the nice, pleasant neighborhoods,
these areas are what you call gentrified,
while areas that I live in now,
one would call them ghettofied.

Yet where I live,
I consider it the true heart of the city,
see all walks of life pass by here
and admire at what takes place,
whether a botched drug deal at midnight,
a homeless man sleeping in my laundry room,
throwing a beer bottle at a raving deranged drunk,
partaking in late night papusas,
and listening to the ghetto birds chirping nonstop,
this is what I call home.

My parents wish me to live in a better place,
and I won’t lie,
I wish I did too
but at the same time,
there’s no place like home.

2 comments

  1. easylifestyles · April 4, 2011

    Excellent job. Thanks for sharing. Sharing poems is something I truly enjoy doing. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    Check out – A Day at the Park

  2. yumichristina · April 4, 2011

    I know exactly what you mean. My last home was K-town! I was there for eight months and then I couldn’t handle the cockroach invasion in my apartment building.

Leave a Reply

