levelheaded

i was hardly known to be the level-headed one
far too often, i am impetuous and impatient
driven by chaotic forces to do things at will

but when responsibilities started growing
like bunnies on a sexual hyper overdrive
i came to realize, slowly but surely,

that to be levelheaded,
to keep my level of cool
is a genuine sanity saver

the effort of just taking into account
the little things around me:
seeing that freckle on that girl’s face,
smelling the brisk chilly air,
humming my favorite song softly,
slowing my world down just a tad
allows me to control my own destiny
one responsibility at a time.

One comment

  1. Jaylen Fleischman · January 16, 2012

    Major thanks for the blog. Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

