Possible Futures

Fast forward my life 20 years from now.
Where will I be from now?

I’m a family man
working a 9-5 office job
my dreams as an actor
cast aside to the sidelines
to take care of my family.

I’m a professor of Asian American studies
who moved on from being an actor
in order to inspire and motivate the youth
and allow them to achieve their untapped true potentials.

I’m a spoken poet
touring across the country
spitting words of harsh truth
and vivid imaginary worlds
created with the power of my words.

I’m a successful actor
fulfilled in all ways,
artistically and financially
and buying a nice house for my mom
and a golden golf set for my dad.

I’m alive in a fiery sunshine,
always seeking to seize the day.

Oh, how these futures look bright
in all their different ways
that may not be what I want now
but possible futures that is with love.

However
these possible futures are not
without their dark branches
and as I reach them out
I see that I..I am..

I’m a family man
working a grueling 9-5 office job
my dreams as an actor
thrown aside to the abyss
to take care of my family
my family who treats me like shit
my wife who doesn’t appreciate me
and my son who hates me.

I’m a high school teacher
who gave up being an actor
in order to inspire and motivate the youth
but instead only receiving their scorns
and so I gave up on them
and eat my lunches alone at the break room.

I’m a spoken poet
ranting about my own woes
and blaming the world for my misfortune,
my only audience: myself.

I’m a bitter struggling actor
single, alone, and unloved
relying on liquor
and still consuming Cinnabons
to make the days more bearable.

I’m no longer alive
having passed away years before
in a hapless car accident.

There may be paths that I have not foreseen
Destiny, in all its mysterious power
is my master
and at my complete disposal.

2 comments

  1. one poor woman · November 23, 2010

    A fascinating take on what is future potential. It can be hard to see ahead. I like to take it one step at a time, but the dreams we all can engage in happen all day, any day we might choose.
    Just a thought. I hope you take this feeling and make fine art with it not only here but where your heart lives–on the stage perhaps?

  2. one poor woman · November 23, 2010

    P.S. I love the header to your post. Did you take the photo displayed?

Leave a Reply

