Being honest with Truth

When it comes to admitting my own negligence,
I am the worst.

Instead of looking at Truth in the eye
I instantly turn on my bullshit factory
and churn out elaborately worded excuses,
words laced with panicked desperation
because I want to be seen as a mature adult
who is
competent, dependable, perfect,
all because
I am
too
afraid
to admit
my own frailty.

But today
I stared at my negligence
and for the first time
a complete blank took place
I looked towards my bullshit factory
but the factory didn’t turn itself on
I then looked up to Truth
shrugged with a wiry grin on my face
and simply uttered:

“You got me”.

Truth smiled.

“I just didn’t do it

Leave a Reply

