Dishwashing

There is something quite soothing
soothing to the senses & soul
when I do a menial cleansing task
such as dishwashing.

It seems as if I am applying
all of my life’s worries and problems
into the dirty dishes stacked before me
and with each utensil and plate
that I cleanse with my own bare hands
I enjoy this because I have a direct part
in determining whether or not
this dish remains dirty
or becomes clean.

I lose myself to the rushing water that soaks my hands
the mini bubbles that burp out of the cleaning liquid container
the rubbing of sponge as I apply it to the dishwashing liquid
and the scrubbing of it as I clean each and every dirty dish.

My mind blanks out
and I am at peace.

Leave a Reply

