Clouds

I’m ten years old
feisty, stubborn, walking menace
pissed off at my mother (again)
I’m lying down on the grass
crying to myself.

I take a deep breath
wipe my tears away
and take note of the
the rolling green hill I’m on
the cool breezy autumn air I feel
the rustling of the trees I hear
the wet sweet dew of the grass I smell
the magnificent clouds I see.

I lose myself staring up into the sky
and get a strange conviction
that gravity will turn into levity
and I will fall upwards into the clouds
and embrace the white fluffiness
I’m waiting for it to happen any moment
but after an hour of waiting
and mighty will power concentration
I’m still grounded into the grass
and I feel a slight pang of disappointment
which is quickly forgotten
as my imagination comes to my rescue
and give me shape-guessing games
to keep my emotions busy and playing.

Rabbits
dragons
pirate ships
UFO’s
these are the shapes I see
and then
I see a large mama nimbus cloud rolling by
chasing after several smaller clouds
and I think about my mother
who must be worried about me

I take another deep breath
get up off the grass
brush off the grass strands
and hitchhiking ants
look at the clouds one more time
smile to myself and tell them
“I will be back tomorrow”

and return back home.

One comment

  1. ask · September 11, 2010

    This is one of the most incredible blogs Ive read in a very long time. The amount of information in here is stunning, like you practically wrote the book on the subject

Leave a Reply

