Dance the Night Away

There are times
when I got the blues
when I’m down and low
when I’m high strung out
when I’m enraged
that writing poetry,
meditating,
eating Cinnabons,
crying,
or jerking off
just won’t do.

I need something to remind me
the joy
the exhilaration
to be alive
to be present
to just be
so give me some sweet, pulsating
hard hitting house music
and let it take me from there.

I step into the dance floor
allow the vibrations from the bass
the fast paced rhythms
the chaotic beats
to flow right into me
I close my eyes
to take it all in
let the beats flow
right out of me
in the form of pure
unfiltered
self-expression
Dance.

When I dance
there is no
pain,
sorrow,
anger,
rage,
there is only
me.

All these negative emotions
they are expelled out me
but as they are released into the open
they become frigid with loneliness
I warmly invite them to come join me
but they want to dance in a frenzy
so I clear the space of any pesky people
as there is no room for them
with my wonderful dancing partners here

and together
we dance
together
we dance
together
we dance
the night
away.

Leave a Reply

