Bittersweet Life

Inspired by The Verve’s “Bittersweet Symphony”

I sometimes look at my past
imagine all the different ways
I could split and veer myself into
be a different man than I am today
be a million different people
from one day to the next
each day a wishful longing,
a longing unfulfilled.

Never content, never satisfied
I go through my life like a dream
blinking my eyes constantly
to see if I will wake up from this
monotonic sluggish dream
the hard truth that I refuse to take
any control over my reality
any resolve to change.

I had to realize
I was hurting in the inside
my pain too great to unfold
but one day
unlike all the other days
I heard a sound
a sound that recognized my pain

The sound released a ringing
A high-pitched ringing
that crept
that slithered
slowly into my ears
grew in size and volume
in such enormous monstrosity
the pressure caved into me
squeezing my soul tighter
and tighter
I let out a scream
a scream that shattered my fake faces
a scream that drove the ringing out.

I stood still
blissful nothingness
blissful emptiness
opened my arms
to allow Silence embrace me
and as we held each other
I let the melody come into me
I let the melody shine into me
let it cleanse my mind
and finally be free.

Leave a Reply

