Koreans, Part II

I do hate myself
because
I can’t appreciate my identity
I can’t appreciate being Korean
I’m trapped
confined
inside a suffocating dank prison
and saw everything through
a tiny grated window of my hate
and became
disillusioned
bitter
enraged.

At first I took my anger out
on those who ridiculed me
on those who did not understand me
I blamed them all for putting me
in this prison.

But one day
a cellmate came in
a Korean just like me
but not quite like me
we have the same anger
the same rage
but after speaking with him
I then came to realize
I put myself in this prison
because I put so much of
my hatred
against myself
against Koreans
on my own father

When the discovery was made
I finally made peace with my father
I inhaled
exhaled
then broke the chains that held me
smashed the prison walls that kept me
and ran out to the light that awaited me.

I don’t speak their language
I don’t understand their culture
I don’t exactly fit in
and I don’t know why
but I’m entirely okay with that.

One comment

  1. Kesho Phoenix · August 9, 2010

    After reading part one and then two I think it is a good beginning. I can’t wait to see if there is a conclusion that would dig deeper into the pain under the skin of discovery.

Leave a Reply

