Defiant Fire

“We invite those who we want to perform”

When I heard those words today
Something just triggered
Inside of me
Something just twitched
Inside of me
Something just exploded
Inside of me.

I became discontent
With where I was
With who I was
Right then
Right there.

I felt a defiant fire
Growing within me
I felt a growing hunger
Hungry to become
SOMEBODY.

There are no handouts in this world.
Nobody will tell me that I am special
And pat my back with fake gentle caresses.
I am special only because
I believe myself to be so.

I don’t want to be invited to be acknowledged
I want to seize it with my own hands
Pull myself up and let nobody tell me
Let nobody ever dismiss me
That I don’t have what it takes.

This defiant fire gives me drive
But this defiant fire is dangerous
For I must not let it burn me alive
Or I will be blind to my own vanity.

For now
I will let this fire burn
This defiant fire of mine.

2 comments

  1. Fiona · July 9, 2010

    Awesome! I have felt this many many times. You have captured this well.

  2. somewhere else · July 9, 2010

    I like this. It’s true – have felt it as well. The fire can be dangerous. The journey to specialness – hmmm, gives me something to think about. peace

Leave a Reply

